Saturday, November 8, 2008

No Support...

So I haven't posted in a few weeks. Did I fall off the wagon? Don't worry... Not for 2 or 3 weeks. I did for the past week, I won't lie. I asked my hubby if he looked at my blog at all. He told me know. Honestly, he was the one who set it up for me, and while it took me awhile to get going with it, I actually was looking forward to my posts. I thought it was one more way for him to understand who I am. Silly me!

I feel as though I have no support. It is expected that I just be disciplined and love to work out and never have a sweet tooth. I can't snap my fingers and just make this happen. Ok so we've been married for 5 years. I am not making excuses for my lack of desire for the treadmill or the kettlebell, but it will never be what I desire to do.

I desire to see life. To move past petty little arguments and know more of what is out there for me, for my spouse, and for my son. What does it mean to live? Well I guess that I am on that journey right now! Finding that answer is a part of living a healthy lifestyle.

Don't worry... I am back on track now. After a very carb-filled dinner last night I realized I was not enjoying my week of over indulgence and under workouts. This morning I ran for 30 minutes (at varying speeds), did some very light weights, then an hour of yoga. It was very enjoyable...

Thursday, October 23, 2008

Remotivation...

I hate working the mid shift...

The last 2 days I have worked very long shifts, all day... No workout yesterday for me, but I was able to squeeze in some kettlebells the day before. Today I am planning on a great kettlebell workout, if my little boy will take a nap. I suppose I can do it while he's up, but it's just harder.

I made some homemade Tzatiki sauce. So Easy!!!

1 seeded cucumber
1 Tb lemon juice
2 cloves garlic
1/4 red onion
2 C plain yogurt

I just chopped up everything and mixed it with the yogurt. It's best if you let it sit overnight before enjoying. I wish I could take credit for this recipe, but a coworker gave it to me. I have some salmon marinating in it and will be enjoying that tonight I think. I'm pretty excited to try it!

Sunday, October 19, 2008

Going Strong!

I'm at the point I don't even want to turn and go back the other way. I can't even fathom how I was remotely content even 3 weeks ago at my weight. Flab was everywhere, and I was simply not motivated. Now I feel as if I can take on my new challenges in life. See into the future and where it may lead me. I will not wait for anyone, and if people don't want to come along, then so be it!

Sunday, October 12, 2008

Not Giving In...

Last night, I did a 10 minute set of swings with my 18 lb. kettlebell. Ok, ok, so I know it's not THAT impressive, but it made me feel pretty good! Today was more my day of rest. I did go hiking for about an hour this morning. Nothing very strenuous. I have been exhausted this weekend. I took a nap yesterday, and then again today. It felt so nice.

I have not really watched a whole lot of television. I am really enjoying my freedom of this addiction. The time I really have the most difficulty is when I simply want to veg and let my mind go. Only time will tell how well I will really do with this... 21 days to build a habit!

I made chocolate chip cookies for my husband last night to satisfy his sweet tooth, but I have not given in yet to eating one. They are very tempting. I know I can do it!

Friday, October 10, 2008

Haven't lost it yet...

So I posted on here, and I'm still going strong. Ok... Ok... Ok... I know it's only like 2 days, but I'll take it! I took some measurements last week for a shirt I'm making for myself (I decided it was time for a hobby), and I thought "Why not use this as my gauge on how I'm doing?" I retook them the first day I started all this, and not much had changed. But today... let me tell you about today... I measured 2" less in my waist and 1" less in my hips... Awesome, huh?! I don't really like the scale. While it was cool to step on their when I was 119 lbs., I don't think if someone is working out right they will necessarily lose pounds. They will definitely gain some muscle, which weighs more than fat. I don't know... to each their own!

Thursday, October 9, 2008

Do right by my body...

Every time I blog on here, I'm in a place where I'm doing good. I finally will get myself back in the motivation of things, then I blog about it, then I lose it. Well, I am gonna give it another go around. I'm tired of being overweight. I'm tired of struggling. I would love it if I were one of those lucky ones who could eat a pint of ice cream and actually lose weight. No I look at it and I gain 3 pounds. I've decided this week to turn off the tv. I have a dvr to record the shows I like, so I will watch those in the evenings. But in the mornings, my little boy and I find other ways to entertain ourselves.

Yesterday and today I also decided to do some sprints. I got up at 7am. I think this will be a regular thing for me. Of course with sprints it is always important to consistently challenge myself with new speed, incline, or sprint times. I also did some kettle bell stuff last night, which I loved. I already feel better. It's not that I don't want to do right by my body. It's that sometimes, it almost seems like I can't. By turning off the tv has allowed me to do so much more with my time and I do not feel the drained or rushed feeling I used to feel.

Hopefully I will not lose my motivation by blogging my thoughts down!

Saturday, October 4, 2008

Doing my best...

So it has been a little over a week since my last past where I claimed I wanted to get back on track. I'm doing ok, but still have a long way to go. A girl actually complimented me tonight, that she thought I looked like I was losing weight. It made me feel good...

I have been doing some lighter workouts this week, as I recognize that this is my lifesource of health. Some are fortunate to be able to gorge themselves and never reach a state of unhealthiness... NOT ME!!! Even when I try to just eat right, my muscle tone sux, and I don't lose a pound.

The ease of using the kettlebell around my home is becoming an easier task for me. Although I still use a pretty light weight (18lbs), I feel I can perform a decent snatch and I am almost eager for some swings. Today I actually did 3 minutes with my hubby's 35 lb kettlebell. It's not much, but even Arnold had to start light at one point... HA!

Anyway, it's just a matter of staying motivated and dedicated to what I want. I have to find the discipline and consistency within myself. No one can give that to me, or even force me to be like that. I'll get there... I know it!

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Back on track...

So... I always grew up kind of a chunky monkey... 150 lbs was an average weight for me, but I would never let myself get to a size 14. I would starve myself to avoid that. I always wanted to eat right, and exercise, but my ignorance had the best of me. When I met my husband Bob, he helped to show me the way to eat and exercise. That is a romance tale for a different day...

He helped me to drop about 20 lbs over the course of about 3-4 months. Then I got pregnant and had the battle all over again. It was about a year after our little boy was born that I decided to drop the weight and was down to my lowest... 119 lbs. While I was not toned perfectly, I was definitely enjoying my new weight, size, and overall look.

Well, I'm back... I tipped the scales at 140. Now, for a lot of people out there, that is by no means overweight. I am very small boned though, and the excess weight is simply not appealing. I am eating a more rounded, and healthier diet, and sometimes even enjoy my workouts (let's not get crazy... I don't enjoy all of them). In about a week I have dropped about 4 lbs, and am well on my way. When I am at work, grilled fish and broccoli is about all that I indulge in. But I'm looking forward to being myself again...

Sunday, August 17, 2008

New Day...

So yesterday I did pretty good. During the day I did have some scallops (they were so yummy!), and with my dinner I had some more scallops. My workout consisted of:

50 bw squats
50 sit ups
50 knee push ups

2 rounds of the above...

Ok so it was a weak workout, but at least I did something, which is more than most of the American public does from day to day...

My day diet will pretty much consist of the same stuff, but for dinner, I think I'm feeling fish tonight. Maybe some Mahi-mahi. Of course I'll have my salad too and some steamed veggies. I'm exhausted from working this weekend, so I may not be able to squeeze in a workout, but the kettlebells just make it so easy for me. I'll keep you posted!

Saturday, August 16, 2008

August 16...Can she do it?!

So, I'm someone who works crazy hours and has a crazy life (as if none of you know what I am talking about ;p). In the past week I have discovered a renewed idea of the warrior diet with the combination of the anti-estrogenic diet. I've decided to keep myself more accountable, I am going to let you all know during the morning what my plan is for the day. I'll keep you posted to how I did... I just enjoyed a Fuji orgainic apple, and of course some water.

As for a workout, I'm planning to do some kind of circuit involving pushups, situps, and bw squats, since my hubby took the kettlebell with him to work. Post workout, I'll be enjoying 1/2 cup plain yogurt with 1/4 cup (homemade) granola. This is my recovery meal, as it has protein and carbs.

Throughout the day, it is my plan to have a banana, then later a salad.

For my dinner, I'm sure I'll have more salad. I'm feelin' like some grilled shrimp today...mmmmm! Broccoli and Asparagus will accompany that. Then throughout the rest of my shift at work I'll probably munch on goat cheese, raw pumpkin seeds, and nuts (not sure what kind yet, but definitely raw...)

Well, let's see if I can do it today!!!

Monday, June 2, 2008

053108

915a
2 probiotics
2 fish oil
Bob's shake less the citrus fruit, with mango

1p
.5 shot of zrii

230p
Banana
.5 shot of zrii

630p
Mixed greens with 2 strawberries avocado and pomegranate dressing

730p
Sweet potato chips

830p
Strip steak, snow crab, and handful of potato chips (this plate took me 2 hours to eat)

Friday, May 30, 2008

052908

730a
2 probiotics
2 fish oil

830a
Bob's shake, less the kale with extra spinach.

12p
1 c plain yogurt with a few drops of stevia

1p
1 hour of yoga

3p
Banana

6p
Mixed greens with carrots, radishes, peaches, tomatoes, avocado, green goddess/garlic vinegarette.

7p
Tuna, squash, green beans, yam, cabbage, onion.
3 chips with lobster dip.

8p
Pineapple, peanuts, Cashews, and granola throughout the next few hours.

Thursday, May 29, 2008

052808

7a2 probiotics2 fish oilsBob's morning veggie and grapefruit shake.

1230pHandful of snap peas

3pBanana

6pMixed greens with mushrooms, radishes, cucumber. Peach, avocado and green goddess dressing.Goat cheese

8pHalibut , green beans, yam, squash

10pPineapple, 2 dates